On the path...
Hey folks,
I´m just gonna write a short blog post to give you a brief update.
For three weeks we´re already at the Chandrakirti Meditation Center and we really enjoy it.
In the morning we do some generel work around the house and garden and get food and accommodation in return. As they have two buildings in final stage of construction here, I mostly did landscaping and stuff. Kind of hard but very satisfying in the end, I now know a bit better how my man Juli feels like :D
The nature and landscape here is outstanding. We still have a lot of sunny and warm weather and sometimes in the afternoon I go for a short or long walk. From the hill you can see the whole valley with a wide snowcovered mountain range in the background. Wonderful!
Besides I seize the opportunity to study buddhism philosophy (if you have any doubts about that, check out my whatsapp profile picture :D :P) and learn how to meditate. They have a wonderful meditation hall here, with regular classes, teachings and ceremonies that we´re all allowed to attend. Three nuns and a geshe (ph.d in buddhist philosophy) are living here, moreover 4-6 volunteers. Interesting conversations inclusive!
The other day we had an earthquake of the strength 6 point something and I missed it. I was working outside and didn´t feel a thing, I just heard a strange sound which I late found out where the vibrations of the windows. Pia even ran out of the house as it apparently was quite shaking.
Next week the worldwide renown spiritual master Lama Zopa Rinpoche visits the meditation center. For the people here, it is a huge huge thing and we´re all really busy with the whole prepatation. For us it is a very precious possibility that may be unique. According to buddist philosophy, we must have accumulated heaps of positive karma in our former lifetime(s) to have such an opportunity. Let´s see how it´s gonna be, I´m pretty curious. After the whole event is over, we´ll leave this place for doing...whatever^^
I think that´s all for the moment. As soon as I´m enlightened, I´ll write another blogpost straight away :D
lovely greetz
hen
PS: one of the rules here is ¨Respect all life¨, that means no killing, which means no meat. And yes, that also means that I´m a temporary vegetarian. Crazy, I know :D